February 5, 2024

Understanding Day Care Abuse in Arkansas

Day care abuse can happen at any time. As parents, we trust day care facilities to care for our children, but regardless of our best efforts, incidents can leave families devastated and children traumatized. Thankfully, when we are faced with this unfortunate reality there are civil courses of action we can take. To do so, it is important to understand the legal aspects surrounding day care abuse.

Firstly, day care abuse refers to any form of mistreatment or harm inflicted on a child within a day care facility. It can include physical abuse, emotional abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, or even inadequate supervision. In Arkansas, the law recognizes the severity of this type of abuse and imposes legal consequences on those responsible.

Legal Rights and Recourse for Victims
  1. Reporting Abuse: As Benjamin Franklin said, “an ounce of prevention, is worth a pound of cure.” If you suspect or witness any form of abuse in a day care facility, report it to the Arkansas Child Abuse Hotline at 1-800-482-5964. Reporting promptly ensures that appropriate authorities can investigate the situation. Based on findings, those authorities will take the necessary actions.
  2. Civil Lawsuits: In addition to criminal charges, you have the right to pursue civil lawsuits against the responsible parties. Consulting with an experienced personal injury attorney can help you navigate the legal process and seek compensation for damages like: medical expenses, emotional distress, and pain and suffering.
  3. Statute of Limitations(SOL): There is a deadline for filing a lawsuit, also known as the statute of limitations. In Arkansas, cases involving day care abuse have a SOL that generally begins when the victim turns the age of majority (typically 18 years old). From then the victim has 3 years to file their civil suit. However, if the victim is unaware they were abused and discovers it after the age of majority + three years, they may still be able to file.


Day care abuse is a heartbreaking reality that can shake the trust we have in child care providers. In Arkansas, parents have the right to seek justice for their children who have suffered abuse at day care facilities. When dealing with abuse, seeking legal assistance from a personal injury firm, like Gillispie Law Firm, is crucial.

For a Free Consultation Regarding Day Care Abuse


Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.


Josh Gillispie